ITTF Front       Home Page        Back  

Table Tennis for Every Schoolchild in Sri Lanka, the President’s Achievable Goal
By: Ian Marshall, ITTF Publications Editor

  Photo By: Courtesy of Chandana Perera


Elected uncontested at Otters Aquatic Club in Colombo on Saturday 31st March 2012, for a second term of office as President of the Table Tennis Association of Sri Lanka, the Honourable Lasantha Alagiyawanna has been very quick to act.

The Deputy Minister of Construction, Engineering Services, Housing Construction and Common Amenities; in conjunction with Ministry of Education, he has pledged no less than 1,500 table tennis tables for schools in the island.

Funds for 1,000 table tennis tables have been already approved by the Ministry of Education; the remaining 500 tables will be financed by Provincial Councils.

The aim is to make table tennis available for all schoolchildren throughout the whole of the country.

Coaches Courses Planned
An increase in activity means that more coaches are urgently needed.

Therefore, Manzil Muthalib, the newly elected Chairman of the Coaching and Development Committee, together with the leading coaches in Sri Lanka, are planning courses for Physical Education Teachers; support from the Sports Ministry of Education has been obtained.

Elected Uncontested
Also at the Annual General Meeting, Shehenaz Dhananjaya Dharmaratne, on his return from Dortmund, where he represented Sri Lanka at the Annual General Meeting of the International Table Tennis Federation, was elected uncontested as a General Secretary of the Table Tennis Association of Sri Lanka.

Shehenaz Dhananjaya Dharmaratne is the Assistant General Manager (Supplies) at the Land Reclamation and Development Corporation, which is directed by the Ministry of Defence and Urban Development.

Chrys Gunarathna Memorial Tournament
Meanwhile from Friday 27th to Sunday 29th April at the St Thomas Indoor Stadium in Mount Lavinia, the Chrys Gunarathna Memorial Tournament was held, a ranking tournament open to all members of the Table Tennis Association of Malaysia

Most Outstanding Players
Udaya Ranasinghe of Vidyartha College in Kandy, who won both the Under 15 and Under 18 Boys’ Singles titles, was adjudged the most outstanding male player, with the equivalent female award going to Umaya Tharaki of Dharmasoka College in Ambalangoda.

She won the Under 18 Girls’ Singles title and was the runner up in the Women’s Singles event.

Chrys Gunarathna Memorial Tournament - Finals
Men’s Singles: Rohan Sirisena bt Nirmala Jayasinghe 11-8, 12-10, 5-11, 6-11, 5-11, 11-9,12-10
Women’s Singles: Ishara Madurangi bt Umaya Tharakie 11-6, 11-9, 5-11, 11-9, 11-6
Veteran Singles: Gamini Moraes bt M. Marzook 11-8, 11-5, 11-3
Masters Singles: Jagath Rajapaksha bt Wajira Wickramasinghe 12-10, 8-11, 11-9, 12-14, 11-6
Under 18 Boys’ Singles: Udaya Ranasinghe bt Thilina Wijesiri 11-6, 11-5, 11-8
Under 18 Girls’ Singles: Umaya Tharakie bt Ruwani Kannangara 12-10, 6-11, 13-11, 13-11
Under 15 Boys’ Singles: Udaya Ranasinghe bt Nuwantha Niroshana 11-7, 8-11, 11-5, 11-8
Under 15 Girls’ Singles: Ruwani Kannangara bt Muthumali Piyadharshani 11-8, 11-6, 10-12, 11-4
Under 12 Boys’ Singles: Isuru Anjana bt Virunaka Hendahewa 7-11, 11-9, 5-11, 13-11, 11-8
Under 12 Girls’ Singles: Hansani Piumila bt Thanushi Rodrigo 11-6, 11-6, 11-7
Under 10 Boys’ Singles: Dewmith Weerasena bt Isuru Hansa Methmal 11-4, 11-6, 11-4
Under 10 Girls’ Singles: Dilmi Kolabage bt W.I.S.Priyasadi 6-11, 6-11, 11-7, 11-5, 11-9

Officials and Medallists at the Chrys Gunarathna Memorial Tournament

Seated left to right: Jagath Rajapaksha (National Coach - TTASL), Dananjaya Dharmarathne General Secretary - TTASL), Chandana Perera (Chief Coordinating Officer - TTASL), Ranjith Edirisinghe (Manager Special Event - Coca Cola Beverages Sri Lanka), the Honourable Kanaka Herath(MP Kegalle District, Vice President & Chairman Tournament Committee - TTASL), Saman Rathnayaka (Treasurer - TTASL), Thushara Sampath - Tournament Committee Secretary - TTASL), Group Captain Lakshman Ranathunga (Vice President - TTASL)

Standing left to right: Dewmith Weerasena (Under 10 Boys Champion), Udaya Ranasinghe (Under 15 & 18 Boys, Champion), Umaya Tharakei (Under 18 Girls’ Champion & Women's Runner Up), Ruvini Kannangara (Under 15 Girls’ Champion & Under 18 Girls’ Runner Up), Ishara Madurangi (Women's Champion), Rohan Sirisena (Men's Champion), Isuru Anjana (Under 12 Boys’ Champion), Hansani Piyumila (Under 12 Girls’ Champion)

Photo by Jamal Hakouz



Click here to Open

Read also

Now 3 Days: Reasons for Optimism, Walter Rönmark Positive for Future of Table Tennis ,

Host Nation Duo Overcomes Second Seeds, Laura Escobar and Maria Morales in Form ,

Peru Asserts Authority but Host Nation Partnership Attracts Attention ,

Major Upset but No Progress for Yevhen Pryshchepa, Tomas Tregler Flies Czech Flag ,

Rising to Occasion, Surprise First Places Clinched as Initial Stage Concludes ,

Baku the Extra Incentive for Lisbon Hosted ITTF-European Team Championships ,

Team Events Commence Play in Chile, Argentina Leads the Way ,

Now 4 Days: Latin America Ascending to New Found Heights ,

Runner Up One Year Ago, Carlos Machado Given Tough Test by Ryotaro Ogata ,

Against Expectations Magdalena Sikorska Achieves First Goal, Now New Target Awaits ,


© Copyright 2002 - International Table Tennis Federation (ITTF)
  ITTF Pro Tour